Come at me Bro

For my friend here in Tenterfield, Lucinda (it is cold and flu season at the office) and my Robyn. Viruses, bacteria and poetry.

Come at me Bro

Through my cochlea they did run,
Wreaking havoc on my inner ear drum,
Trampling across my sinuses,
Those goddamn rhinoviruses. 

One bad decision at the deli,
Led to an awful burbling in my belly,
It sure did sneak in so sly,
That motherfucking Escherichia coli.

Sitting by a stream sipping,
Unbeknownst to me it was ripping,
Through me like planes at LaGuardia, 
That hostile bitch Giardia.

Fever left my body febrile and I did ache,
As if poisoned by a shaking rattle snake,
No relief from the cabinet, the credenza,
I got hit by that asshole Influenza. 

All these things can deter,
Even the most worldly adventurer,
But be brave, be strong,
And trust your T-Cells won’t do you wrong.

Poetry can be fun too.

Leave a comment